Lol for Avenue Q

Avenue Q

New World Stages, Stage 3

340 West 50th Street, NYC

Wednesday, June 4, 2014 8:00 PM

$47

AvenueQBlogpost

Back in Georgia, I examined the calendar and glanced over Avenue Q on June 4, 2014. I did not have a clue what it could be, where it was, or why we were going there. I figured our professors had things under control and chose interesting and engaging activities for us to participate in. My failure to conduct a brief research on our adventures allows me to be surprised each and every day. I enjoy sudden changes in the schedule and the novelty of a fresh journey.

We began our day at the American Museum of Natural History which I loved because it was the same museum used in the “Night at the Museum” movie series. I was able to recognize numerous scenes and exhibits in relation to the movie. I saw Rapa Nui (Easter Island) Moai Cast in the Margeret Mead Hall of Pacific Peoples exhibit. I also saw the Capuchin monkey in the Hall of Primates. My favorite was the Tyrannosaurus Rex in the hall of Saurischian Dinosaurs.

During this adventure, we discussed our future plans for the evening. When the name “Avenue Q” came up, I remembered seeing the name on our calendar but could not recall what it was. Alonda conducted a quick look-up and discovered a YouTube clip of the musical. They were singing “everybody is a little bit racist”. WHAT TYPE OF SHOW WERE WE GOING TO TONIGHT? I failed to ask this question and ventured once again into the unknown. I was exceedingly unprepared for the results.

I walked into the room of my first Broadway show, closely examining the stage and already expecting a terrible performance. I found out about the puppets and once again shook my head in disbelief, wondering why our professors would put us through this agony. The night before (Joe’s Pub) made me a bit skeptical. The show started and to my surprise, within the first few minutes I was falling out of my chair with laughter. I will not go into intricate detail, but these people were HILARIOUS. The show unquestionably exceeded my expectations.

Much Love,
Nathan

1 Comment

Filed under Dance, Miscellaneous, Neighborhood Fun, Theatre

One response to “Lol for Avenue Q

  1. C’mon, Nathan, no intricate detail? No discussion of puppets in compromising positions? 🙂

Leave a Reply

