Magical Journey

I did not take these pictures! Some other jerk took it when they weren’t supposed to but I’m taking it from the internet…Sorry. >_>;

Today we went to the Whitney Museum. I had heard that it was going to be more contemporary or modern art or whatever so I’ll admit to not being overly enthused since I’m not a big fan of modern art. I just don’t get it. Anyways. There were only two floors but I am going to talk about two things at the museum in one post. One thing on each floor because these two things were just that epic. J

So thing one is a piece called Fountain by Len Lye. It’s made up of stainless steel rods (that reflect colored lights) that emerge from a black base that looks like a top hat (like magician’s use!) only upside down. There’s a motor in there that makes the rods move. The colored lights, to me, seemed to be a fiery red and icy blue. Because the blue lights faded from the shiny metal look of the stainless steel to a light, but deep blue? And the red lights reflecting kind of shifted from a yellowy color to the bright red. Thus fire and ice kind of appearance. Any English Major who’s read Robert Frost knows where I’m going with this. And I am.

So “Fire and Ice”? And I had the poem kind of play through my head as I watched the rods move with the motor:

Some say the world will end in fire,

Some say in ice.

From what I’ve tasted of desire

I hold with those who favor fire.

But if it had to perish twice,

I think I know enough of hate

To say that for destruction ice

Is also great

And would suffice.

 

And that’s Frost’s poem. Which I thought about after my initial reaction to the work. It’s my favorite and I literally sat in front of this piece for like 15 minutes. I am easily amused, but it was interesting because of all the works I’ve seen so far, that is the only one that really made me want to sit and flow with the piece. I could have sat there all day I think.

 

So other than my reaction of Frost, I should probably talk about my initial reaction, which will probably seem silly. I really like fantasy and magic and to just lose myself in make believe. When I entered that side room I seriously thought it was magic coming out of a top hat. Maybe it’s my love of shiny things or my inner child, I don’t know, but I for a minute really did believe that. As far as I’m concerned that ‘Fountain’ is a legit fountain of magic and wonder. I was suddenly in every sci-fi/fantasy book that I’ve ever read and I was the focus. It made me smile and take my mind off the loneliness in yesterday’s post. So. This is a thank you from me to Len Lye for his Fountain.

 

Like I mentioned earlier, there were only two floors open at the Whitney, and one of them wasn’t even a floor. It was a room. The artist was Yayoi Kusama and it was basically a room with a 6foot plank in it that was surrounded by water and all the walls, floor, and ceiling were made of mirrors. Colored lights were hung in the room. The reflection between the water and lights and mirrors took me on my second magic journey of the day. This one only lasted a minute, but it was so worth it.

The piece is called Fireflies on Water and it really does seem like you’re on the water surrounded by little multi colored lightning bugs. It’s really beautiful, and if it was allowed I wouldn’t have minded staying in there either. I just kind of spun around in a circle and smiled. Even though we really didn’t get to see much in this museum, these two pieces made it worth it to me. This was definitely one of my favorite afternoons filled with special magical journeys just for me. 

Yayoi Kusama, Fireflies on the Water, 2002  2003.322a-tttttttt    

1 Comment

Filed under Miscellaneous

One response to “Magical Journey

  1. csunyarts

    Glad you enjoyed the Whitney, Brandy, especially since you weren’t expecting to. And I’m really appreciating your connections between literature and the visual arts!

Leave a Reply

